Willem’s Camp Hanes Trip

I threw my luggage in and stepped on to the bus. The bus ride to King, North Carolina was long and tedious. I was on edge because hurricane Ian was on track to get to camp by the time we leave Camp Hanes. During past excursions the buses didn’t have seat belts even though they had lots of cool features, but this time they did. When we arrived we got off the bus and went to our cabins. After having lunch we did our first activity.

My first activity was a two and a half hour hike. On the way up at first it was tiring but as we went further I got adjusted to it. There were a couple of places on the hike where it was too steep and we had to use a rope. Everyone got to the top safely and the view was amazing, you could see Winston-Salem from up there! On the way down I tripped and hit my face but other than that the hike was great.

The next was the day that we had to leave. Then in the morning we did some team building exercises but quickly we had to get on the bus. The bus ride was about two hours but it felt like an eternity to me. I tried to sleep but was drifting in and out of consciousness. When I got there I was happy to be back but I will never forget the trip to Camp Hanes.

2 thoughts on “Willem’s Camp Hanes Trip

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top
Skip to toolbar